Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: General OER Repositories

Open Educational Resources

                                                                                                                     

Aggregated OER Collections

Hippo Campus- Multimedia content on general education subjects for middle-school and high-school teachers and their students. 

Khan Academy- Short lessons in the form of YouTube videos and practice exercises

OER Commons- A public library of OER with tools for content authoring and remixing.  Also provides collaborative workspaces for creating, curating, and discussing OER. 

EdModo Spotlight- various teacher created and shared resources.  Sort by "free and open" and then check "additional details" for further licensing information.  

Humboldt State University Open Ed Collections

Open Course Library - Full courses with materials licensed under CC-BY  unless otherwise noted. 

OASIS- An OER search tool being developed by SUNY

Merlot- An OER search tool 

PBS Learning Media- PBS material made free to use in educational settings

Open Books and Textbooks

CK-12- Standards-aligned open textbooks in the STEM subject for K-12 students.

OpenStax Textbooks- AP-level open textbooks spanning multiple subjects that are developed and peer-reviewed by educators.

Open Textbook Library- Open source textbooks from the University of Minnesota

Project Gutenberg: Over 59,000 free e-books; completely open. 

Saylor Open Textbooks: Unless otherwise noted, these textbooks are licensed as CC-BY-NC-SA.

 

 

 

 

Open Media Collections

Creative Commons Image Search- Openly licensed still images, music, and videos across several repositories, including YouTube, Google, SoundCloud, and more.  

Getty Institute Open Images-  Searchable database of Creative Commons licensed images.

Library of Congress- Millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts, all in the public domain (and thus OER)

American Rhetoric- Database of full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, etc. 

 

Open Lessons and Units

EngageNY- Common Core-aligned curriculum and instructional resources, bilingual resources, performance tasks and assessment guidelines. 

Curriki- A wide array of high quality k-12 content.  All content is CC-BY-NC unless otherwise stated. 

WISC Simulations- a great site of simulations in various content areas licensed as CC-BY-NC

MIT Open Courseware- unless otherwise stated, materials are licensed as CC-BY-NC-SA

EdSitement- unless otherwise stated, materials are licensed as CC-BY

New Visions Open Curricula for Public Schools

K20 Learn- a free, searchable database of lessons from Oklahoma Public Schools

Open Video Repositories

Youtube: try typing in your search term followed by a comma and then "creativecommons."  The videos that are returned should be cc licensed. You can also incorporate licensed videos in your own videos via the YouTube editor.  Within the editor, click on the CC tab to find content available under a cc license.

Vimeo: allows you to easily search and find cc licensed video.

TED:  TED videos are licensed under BY-NC-ND, so they can be freely used and shared.  

Open Data Collections

Data.gov- Comprises U.S. federal data with links to U.S. states, cities and countries with websites that provide open data.  Note that non-federal data available through Data.gov may have different licensing than open licensing.

World Bank Open Data- Global development data that is free and openly licensed.

Library of Congress

Smithsonian Learning Lab- Material in the learning lab is available for your fair use as long as you identify the source and author of the content; do not remove any trademark, copyright, or notices; do not use it to promote, sell or advertise your own products; and comply with any other applicable terms or restrictions. 

 

Open Image Repositories

Wikimedia Commons

Google Images-  Be sure to scroll down in advanced search adn set "usage rights" parameters to be "Free to use, share, or modify."   

The Noun Project- communal repository of simple icon-like images licensed with creative commons licensing

Photos for Class - upon download, attribution is embedded in the picture. 

Unsplash- beautiful images and pictures.  Upon downloading, credit is not necessary but is appreciated through a credit badge you can add to your page. 

Open Music Repositories

dig CC mixer- find liberally licensed music for use in projects, etc.  

Free Music Archive- check the track page for each track for licensing.